View local website on iPad over ad-hoc network: the solution

Now, I addressed this issue yesterday. Today, it seems I have a solution of some sort. Let’s get this out.

The Problem:

  • Laptop/webserver containing our software is to be used for demonstration
  • No wireless connection at the demo locations
  • iPads need to connect to the same software that is on the laptop. This shows both how the software functions and adds a new selling point… if the iPads work.

You may or may not have read the last entry, but I had a number of problems getting this working. The big one for me was that it worked two weeks ago but doesn’t now and I have no idea why. I’m still guessing DHCP issues somewhere along the line, but that doesn’t matter much. I did find a solution.

The Solution:

Leave a Reply

